PBL – Adapt to the Role of Facilitator

One of the greatest challenges for an instructor in a PBL unit is to adapt to the role of facilitator. In this blog post I will reflect on this.

Will my role in the teaching/learning process change?

My whole outlook to teaching and learning has changed since I enrolled in the MET program at Boise State. Now I am determined more than ever to transition to participatory learning. I should admit I was a bit apprehensive of PBL for the very same reasons as most people who are used to direct instruction are; not knowing how to assess learning outcomes or how to achieve standards based learning objectives. After completing the PBL project I feel more confident of being a good facilitator and coach to achieve the desired results.

What are the skills of effective facilitation?

A good facilitator is one who brings out the best in the students by allowing them to take responsibility for their learning while providing guidance on the side. This is done by:

  • Stimulating interest by planning an entry event connected to the topic.
  • Asking an open ended driving question which helps students think critically while finding a solution.
  • Providing students with all resources which will help them find a solution.
  • Encouraging cooperative collaboration
  • Setting high standards and providing project rubrics or checklists for students to self check their progress.
  • Continuously monitoring the progress. Providing feedback and encouraging peer review and feedback.
  • Providing for differentiated instruction to motivate all students and keep them on track.
  • Helping them reflect on their progress as they proceed through each phase of the project.
  • Sharing the culminating activity with somebody from outside the class. This motivates the students to do better.

Will the students develop the competancies and skills needed to be successful?
The student will develop skills of collaboration and habits of mind which are needed to be successful in their 21st century workplace and in their community.

What changes will you need to make in order to become an effective facilitator in your PBL unit?

The main change I will need to make is in my attitude to teaching. I need to transition from directed learning to participatory learning. I will have to change from being an ‘instructor’ to being a ‘coach’

Leave a comment